Remember When Being Republican Wasn’t a Stigma?

I was born during an election year.  I took my first steps under the Reagan regime.  I grew up an Alex P. Keaton Republican. I went to private school. I wore sweater vests and penny loafers. During my Sophomore year of high school a Civics class asked us to balance the budget; I cut the Head Start program. The first time I voted for Bush I did so because I didn’t like Al Gore and because I thought it would be cool if George HW and GW became the second father and son team to serve as President of this great nation.  I voted for GWB a second time because I didn’t trust John Kerry or his Ketchup Money.  When 2008 rolled around, I voted for Barack Hussein Obama. I did so largely in part because of how fucked our country had become after 8 years of Bush.  I wasn’t afraid of another Republican administration but for 8 years I’d heard how McCain was little more than a Republican In Name Only (it seems Arizona doesn’t elect Democrats); so I figured if I was going to vote for a Democrat it might as well be with one who had the balls to call himself a Democrat.  On the state level I voted for Chris Christie (R).  The older I get, the more liberal it seems I become.  A fact which is directly against the old adage, “IF you’re not a Democrat in your 20s, you have no heart, if you’re not a Republican in your 40s, you have no brain.”

It took me a long time to realize that growing up, we were pretty poor.  Thanks to my mother’s ability to stretch a dollar, I had no idea.  For a long time after college, I toiled in a dead end job making mediocre money. It was about the same that my mother had raised me on, so I didn’t need much more.  I have many successful friends from my childhood, I also have a few that ended up in prison. Most for drugs, one creep diddled a 14 year old girl for 2 years (never really liked him).  With every election cycle I find myself more and more disenfranchised from the political game.  I’ve got bigger problems.

It really doesn’t matter to me whether there is an R or a D after the name of the guy who is fucking me over. For the past 15 years, I have spent 1 week a year teaching rising high school seniors about the importance of government and civics.  Politics can affect your everyday life but truly only on the local level. Any possible argument you want to have will ultimately boil down to States Rights.  So there’s very little value in pushing any sort of policy on a National Level.

In reality the ‘Federal Government’ is a bloated mess with too many heads and no actual way of stopping it.  It’s a quandary to me, how is it that an immovable object can be an unstoppable force?  If I vote at all in this upcoming election, I’ll be voting for Obama.  Going back to the Republicans at this point would at least to me be tantamount to going back to an Abusive Husband who isn’t even promising that he’ll change. “C’mon back, Baby, and you’ll get more of the same.”

Obama hasn’t actually accomplished that much in his 4 years, and things aren’t any worse than they were in 2008. I say give the guy another 4 years to do very little, and let’s pick it up then.  Can we just table this until 2016?  Maybe the GOP can pick a candidate that doesn’t ooze the kind of repressed rage rarely seen outside of a Lifetime Movie of the Week?

~ by chrismcdevitt on August 17, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
