Contemplating the Destruction of my Comedy Website

In 2005, my friends Josh Kaulius and Brandon Griffiths created a pretty fucking sweet personal website for me to help with my ‘comedy‘.  I am still on my original Linux hosting plan from 7 years ago. I pay $5.50 a month for it. I don’t even have a GB of storage and I don’t come anywhere near my transfer data rate as outdated as it is.  In the past 7 years this site has received less than 25000 visits.  To give you an idea of the contrast, halfninja.com (which is hosted by wordpress and costs me nothing) has had over half a million pageviews.  One of my youtube videos (the only one not featured on chris-mcdevitt.com) has had almost 200,000 views (it’s a heckler video and apparently they’re wildly popular).

So, I did the math and it seems that each visitor to www.chris-mcdevitt.com has cost me about .018 cents.  That’s not a terrible return on investment.  But really, with the prevalence of tumblrs, etc, who pays for hosting anymore?  About the only thing I need is my email address, which I own anyway, since I own the domain.

Any reason why I shouldn’t completely pull the website, aside from the fact that two men worked very hard for free almost a decade ago on it?

~ by chrismcdevitt on July 26, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
