Monday Morning Free-For-All

I wanted to update the blog, but I just can’t seem to find the motivation to care about one specific thing. So in a nutshell, here’s what’s on my mind today:

The Emmys: I see absolutely no point in these award shows. Was Kanye there? That would be the only talking point I could think of. Not all good shows get Emmys, likewise, Emmys won’t keep a good show on the air (Arrested Development). Why would I want to try and tear myself away from HBO’s Sunday night lineup for a few hours of Little Screen Backpatting? Try holding the Emmy’s on a Friday. See how many people watch.

Baptisms– Baptisms should only be performed by Priests when you make an appointment, or anyone, when the baptisee is in immediate danger of dying. I went to one yesterday, and a deacon did the service. Seriously, there were 5 kids ‘joining the church’ they couldn’t roll a priest on out of bed to say the words and sling the water? Was he that busy?

Fantasy Football – I can’t catch an F’n break here. Last week I played Palmer and sat Hasselbeck. Hasslebeck did double digits, and Palmer scored 6 points. This week I swapped them, Palmer scored 21+ points and Hasselbeck left the game injured. So did Marion Barber for that matter (thank god he did some scoring before he left).

I’ve got enough against me without these constant injuries. Last season I lost Brady and Burleson in the first game. I think I’ve got a 10-12 point lead on my opponent this week, and it’s all going to come down to the COLTS offense tonight on MNF. I need Addai to outscore Reggie Wayne. Seeing as how it’s a Points Per Reception league, this is probably unlikely. Still, while you’re watching, throw a little hail mary up to that lazy priest because the Halfninja could really use your help to go to 1-1 in his league.

Curb Your Enthusiasm & Bored to Death– The former is back for it’s 7th season, the latter is here for the first time.  Both were well worth our time. I can’t desribe the volume of my Lols when watching CYE, they border on the annoying.  BtD is walking a thin line but it still has a lot more ‘curb appeal’ than hung.  My only complaint/question is whether they’re going to continue playing CYE at 9pm and 10pm.  If that’s the case, I’m going to be watching Entourage On Demand a day or so later.  There’s no reason to stay up til 11pm on a ‘school night’ if you’re not hitting me with constant new entertainment.

~ by chrismcdevitt on September 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
