Asher Roth’s New Album is Garbage

I had such high hopes for this Pennsylvanian Gentleman. Since first hearing his “I Love College” song on local radio in Tampa, Florida on my way back to the airport to return my rental car with a giant hangover riding shotgun, I thought, “Wow, this kid gets it.” I even forgave him not being creative enough to have 4 separate lines in his chorus:

“Man, I love college/ I love drinking/I love women/ I love college.”

My mistake. His second single “Lark on my Go-Kart” also happens to be the first song on the album. I watched it on youtube, and couldn’t stand it. Now after having listened to the entire album twice, it’s my favorite song. Busta Rhymes appearance is noteworthy, the rest of the guest appearances come off as forced and unnecessary. The production values did not sound like someone with a record deal. If I had bought this off a kid who mixed it on a Mac, I would understand, but that just isn’t the case. In every interview, Asher Roth stated plain that once his album came out people would see that he wasn’t Eminem. I had no idea how true that statement was until I tried to listen to Asleep in the Bread Aisle a third time.

The hooks are weak and the songs go nowhere.  There are no ‘bangers’ here, there are no ‘bumpers’, there isn’t even a song you can add to your ‘jogging’ mix.  The DJ Cannon mixtape available on thedailykush.com belied so much more promise than this album.  With that in mind, I can only suggest that Asher Roth become king of the Feature, Prince of the Re-Mix.  He can rap, there’s no questioning that, he’s just not creative enough to carry an entire album.  Let Asher rip a verse on someone elses beat, between someone else’s hooks and everyone can go home happy.  I don’t think I paid more than $8 for this album on iTunes; it has 14 tracks.  How is it that I spent $8 for 14 tracks and I STILL FEEL RIPPED OFF? $.57 cents a song, and I’m complaining?  Fraid so.

Track List:
Lark on my Go-Kart – Playfully stupid, Worth all $.57 Cents

Blunt Cruisin–  Desperate Freshman will be driving their parents third car around campus ‘Blunt Cruisin’ to this song, everyone else will be clicking NEXT.

I Love College – Much like the movie Taken, it’s awesome at first, but repeated exposure brings its glaring inadequacies to the surface.

La Di Da – This track has more in common with Bon Jovi’s “Have a Nice Day” than the hip hop staple “Lodi Dodi”.

Be By Myself – Decent flow, Painful Hook, Cee-Lo’s guest appearances turns an otherwise passable track into a cut from the Outkast reject pile.

She Don’t Wanna Man – Terrible song, soulless rip-off of N.E.R.D. She Wants To Move

Sour Patch Kids– A misguided attempt at getting stoners to care about global hunger vs. the munchies.

 As I Em– He’s not Eminem, if you don’t know that by the 8th track on this album, you’re just not listening.

Lion’s Roar– Busta Rhymes is on this track, fast forward until you hear his part.  That, Asher, is how to rap: forceful and confident.

Bad Day–  Get a live journal account and spare me the complaints.

His Dream–  A heartfelt re-imagining of Shaq’s “Phil is my Father.”

Fallin’-  Last part of the album that you might remotely enjoy.

Perfectionist– Snore.  I guess he didn’t think people would get this far into the album.

~ by chrismcdevitt on April 23, 2009.

One Response to “Asher Roth’s New Album is Garbage”

  1. Your a complete idiot!

Leave a Reply

 
