On August 22nd, 2009, I Am Killing My Cellphone.

I’m just warning you now. My contract with Verizon expires on the 21st of August (which may or may not be Mark Reardon’s birthday, I don’t remember). I’ve been toying with the idea of getting one of them thar’ fancy phones like the iPhone or the Googlephone but they all require switching services, which Jess doesn’t want me to do since we’ll save money with a Verizon family plan. However, I’ve come to the decision that for at least 1 month I will live life without a cellphone. I don’t like mine. I don’t need mine. It’s a $60 a month widget that texts and performs as an alarm clock. The majority (we’re talking 90%) of my phone interactions are with Jess (who I live with), My Mom (who is on FB now), the RESTRICTED assholes who Mayo gave my number to and call me all the time, and the Pizza Guy.

There is no good reason why I should have a cell phone. Comedy has slowed with this economy, so it’s not like someone HAS TO REACH ME for a last minute show. If you need to get a hold of me come August just use facebook, myspace, twitter, AOL, email, WII or one of the myriad other technologies that make it incredibly stupid for me to overpay for 300 minutes of talk time that I don’t even use EVERY MONTH.

It’s BS and I’m done with it. If/When I do get another cell phone the number will be given out a lot more guardedly. I don’t need 25 different Thanksgiving/Christmas/New Years texts from numbers I don’t even recognize.

~ by chrismcdevitt on March 26, 2009.

One Response to “On August 22nd, 2009, I Am Killing My Cellphone.”

  1. There is a good reason. I have to be able to reach you at all times. What if I need you and you aren’t home? DUH!

Leave a Reply

 
