I Just Got Profiled!!

At my day job I am one of 3 men in my position; all the others are, obviously, ladies.  Most of my managers are women.  Most of their managers are men.  So it evens out, but in the office proper there might be 10 men out of 60 women or so.  Long story short, I’m sitting at my computer, sending out bullshit emails; and one of the women from the mailroom stops by my cube.  She’s holding out shipping labels and she might be off her meds or something.  She keeps saying, “Jamie.  Jamie!  Folders, Folders, Jamie Folders, Folders Jamie.”  The name Jamie is written on the labels, but there are no Jamies in our office to speak of.  None.

She asked me if I was sending out the folders to Jamie.

I told her I had no idea what she was talking about.

At that point she looked me right in the eye and said, “Most of been the other one.”  Then she walked away, leaving me wondering THE OTHER WHAT?  What must the OTHER WHAT have done/be?

A few minutes later it dawned on me.  It must have been the other MALE EMPLOYEE in my section.

I just got marginalized as a White Male in my office. 

It doesn’t feel good.

The times they is a-changing.

~ by chrismcdevitt on November 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
