The Colors That Don’t Run or Stay Stolen For Long

“I’ve got my flag back!”

It’s a good thing I didn’t immediately retaliate against the neighbor who took it too.  I was walking Dozer last night when he drug me to a far corner of the yard and I got a better angle on my neighbor’s house.  The guy had taken my flag, cut it off the flag pole and nailed it to the wall facing HIS house.

I couldn’t believe it.  I was just muttering to myself about the balls it takes to steal someone’s flag and then pass it off as your own, on the other side of the guy’s wall.  So a few hours later, when I was walking the dog (we do walk him alot , that is not a clever euphemism for any other type of activity), I asked the upstairs neighbors (who are on their porch playing beer pong 90% of the time) if they had heard any banging or hammering going on this past weekend.  They said no, and I told them all about the flag, and the guy, and the nailing it to the wall, and the upstairs guy said he saw my flag in the trash earlier in the weekend and thought I threw it out.

So, at some point while Jess and I were gone some dude came by, tore our flag down, and I imagine, paraded about our backyard drunkenly with Old Glory, before depositing her in the trash (on the 4th of July, no less).  Our “army dude” neighbor must have come home, seen the flag in the trash, immediately called me a dickhead to himself, repatriated the flag from the trash and took it home to adorn his porch.

While this ‘Colombo” like-series of events makes me loads less mad at the guy, it still pisses me off, and you can bet your sweet ass, I took my flag back; rescue or no rescue.  It’s in my game room, folded, until I start flying it in the window, because my neighbors can’t be trusted.

~ by chrismcdevitt on July 8, 2008.

One Response to “The Colors That Don’t Run or Stay Stolen For Long”

  1. That flag will never be in our window.

Leave a Reply

 
