Chantix: Month 2, Day 2

Next Tuesday, I will officially have ‘quit’ smoking for one month.  The pill really does make it easy.  Aside from the nasty farts I squeak out silently in my cubicle and everyday life, I’ve experienced none of the nasty side effects.  And have smoked less than 10 cigarettes in the month that I’ve quit.

That last line just got me in a lot of trouble with my girlfriend.  You see, she feels she should know things before they get posted up here on half ninja; whereas I think it’s a lot easier to not hear her disappointment out loud.

If you’re keeping count I smoked 2 Marlboro Lights on my quit date September 10xth.  I had 1 Marlboro Light the next week at work on the day that I forgot to take my pill, I had 1 Marlboro Regular at the Broadway Comedy Club (I didn’t forget my pill or nothing, the show just sucked real bad and I wanted one), and I smoked about 4 or 5 in Pittsburgh, PA last weekend when I got drunk. 

I don’t think that’s much of a backslide considering the circumstances.  Namely, that I forgot my evening pill back at the place we were staying, performing in a Pennsylvania county that allows you to smoke IN BARS, and drinking for the first time in a month.  I went right back on the meds the next day and I haven’t had an urge to smoke since.

I have gained 15 lbs though, so that’s something to consider.  But if you’re not terribly shallow and don’t mind not being able to drink without running the risk of a Texan shooting you in the head, I strongly recommend Chantix.  It’s doing wonders for me.

~ by chrismcdevitt on October 4, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
