Let the excuses begin…

Well, it’s been a few days since I blogged here on Halfninja.com and for that I apologize.  However, I just didn’t feel up to it yesterday.  Wednesday Afternoon, I got a call from the people down at WYSP that they were looking for some comics to audition for Opie and Anthony live on the air at 7am on Thursday morning.  I had heard about the contest a few weeks before and I didn’t think that it was up my alley.  I didn’t want to take off work and go do some meaningless on air standup to three people in order to win a spot in front of 5000 people who didn’t want to see me.  I attended last year’s Virus show in Camden, NJ and it was brutal for tried and true professionals.

But since someone thought enough of me to call and ask me personally if I was interested I decided that it was probably a good idea.  I mean exposure is exposure right? Right now, O&A is a national radio show on CBS, I could let 20 different markets know about the magic that is Chris McDevitt.  So I got up at 4am and trucked my ass down to Philly to compete against some of my best friends in Comedy:  Geno Bisconte, Ed McGonigal, Pat House, Danny Ozark, Benny Michaels, Brendan Kennedy, and more.  Benny and I were nervous as shit.  There’s something about doing a set at 7am sober that really doesn’t appeal to me.  Normally when I perform I know that work is done for the day when that Red Light Flashes.  IN this case, I had a full day of work waiting for me whenever I got out of the studio.

 I drew like the sixth or seventh performance slot.  McGonigal, Pat House, and Geno were all before me.  McGonigal crushed his 3 minute set.  Everything worked.  It was just what they were looking for.  Pat House achieved his goals by getting the laughs that he wanted from the guys.  Geno did what Geno does, get loud and hurt feelings.  Everyone had done well.  They called my name.  Until we got there I didn’t even know what it would be like, how long were the sets?  Was it in front of the O&A boys or in front of a crowd?  Could we curse? Etc. Etc.  Well it was 3 minutes or 3 car crash noises whatever came first.  Unlike the chicken or the egg, I can tell you during my set, the Car Crashes came first.

I didn’t prepare.  Shit I didn’t even know when the Comedy Show that I might have won the opening spot for was.  Apparently it’s September 15th the day I get back from Florida.  Either way, I had to dance around using Shit as a verb in my opening bit, and it got car crashed, that’s when the descent started; cabin pressure was lost.  I stumbled through the DATE RAPE material, that I’ve honestly performed over 300 times.    Within seconds, the favorite had failed.  I didn’t take it well.  I had a bad day, and I missed out on a good thing.  Ed McGonigal ended up winning.  Good for him.

It took me about 24 hours to get over it entirely.  At least I appeared on a nationally syndicated radio show.  I listened to the audio about 10 times.  Whatever doesn’t kill you just embarasses you in front of millions of people.  I learned that I don’t have to be drunk to do Stand Up, but I probably have to be drunk to be funny.  That being said, only positive things can come of this.  If O&A start using Ed McGonigal more, that will fill up his comedy schedule quite a bit; and with Ed McGonigal doing other comedy shows I won’t have to share mid-billing on the Levy shows that we do all over the Tri-State area.

Nothing is over.  Nobody is going to judge me by one bad set.   In fact, out of everyone who heard it, I seem to be the most disappointed.  Rejection I can take, failure is unacceptable.  Especially when the person I’m failing most is myself.  I’m sure I’ll still be at the Virus show, provided I can score some backstage passes.  I don’t feel like sitting out on the lawn with Angry Philadelphia.  That’s a weird bad scene.

I think as of Early July, I’ve been doing comedy for about 3 years.  I’m farther than anyone thought possible, and I don’t plan on giving up anytime soon.  So, hopefully in 5 years, my set from Thursday’s show will just be a funny tape that we all look back on, laugh, and play occasionally.

With that said, I will say this, and I’ll try not to do it without any bitterness.  I’m 75% sure that there was either a bug up Anthony’s ass from the beginning of my set, or he actually just didn’t like me personally.  I’ve listened to that little section of the show, over and over again.  From the beginning, you can hear me introduced and then Anthony sarcastically say, “Chris McDevitt, that SOUNDS like a comedian’s name…”  I don’t even know what the fuck that means.  I can’t begin to guess, what I do know is my tempo was rushed, and I fucked myself more than anyone, but his fingers were a little hot on that Car Crash button.  Also, my set was interrupted twice with comments from the studio.  It wasn’t a heckler in the crowd, it was a couple of guys on a videophone.  They knew what they were doing.  They were pushing forward on the controls to a plane that had already lost an engine.

I don’t bear any ill will though.  I’ll have to listen again and see if they interupted anyone elses set.  But I really think they didn’t.  I would have listened before I typed this, but I didn’t want to get pissed off again.  I’ve included the video of the material I did working in this post.  You be the judge.  It’s an old video about 2 years old at this point, but it gets the message across.  Even without the polish it has now the bit works.  It was the delivery that was jacked up on Thursday.

 I’ll put a bunch more links and shit into this post when I’m on a network connection that doesn’t have YOUTUBE and MYSPACE blocked.

Thanks for listening to me whine and bringing the cheese,

Chris.

 At least I got a t-shirt.  Yippee.  Can’t believe I forgot to plug halfninja.com

Yippee

~ by chrismcdevitt on July 13, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
