This fucking computer….

So Jess took the laptop out to Circuit City today, and the Firedog people basically told her there’s no way to get the memory card out.  The internet told me the same thing.  So, Circuit City’s tech support is worthless.  The internet did say it was possible to work the card out with the adapter that I should have been using in the first place, so I ordered that from the Memory Stick Pro people and should have it in 4-8 days.   With that fire averted, I brought my jumpdrive home from work today, hoping at least that I could start transferring photos, downloading programs I would need, and familiarizing myself with Vista.  

Too bad, when I got home, the laptop WOULDN’T EVEN TURN THE FUCK ON!  I’m serious, I know sticking the card in there was my fault, but I’m pretty sure Circuit City sold me a piece of shit.  There’s no reason a computer should not be working when it’s been out of the box for less than a day and was only on for 45 minutes that first day.  The battery is fully charged, they didn’t turn it on when they inspected it at Firedog, and the fucking screen won’t advance passed saying Windows with a little scrolling GREEN wait marker.  When you reset it, it offers you the choice of restarting windows normally or going to windows self diagnosis mode to repair the problem.  TOO BAD it doesn’t open the self diagnosis but just brings you back to the screen where you’re supposed to pick it again.

 The lesson learned here is take your time with expensive toys, and follow your first instincts.  I should have stuck to my guns about the whole, “Fuck Circuit City” thing on Monday.  But no, I had to reconsider and impulse buy online at 11pm at night.

This fucking blows, I may be wasting $600 bucks on a laptop that the warranty may or may not cover because of the memory card issue, which I’m sure is NOT affecting the loading of the computer.  I fucking hate this machine.  I’m going to be hemoragging cash until I get this fixed, because now that I’ve had a laptop, however fleeting, I now NEED ONE.  I don’t care if I have to finance a $2K Tablet PC I will have a laptop.

Maybe I should just get a MAC, they seem pretty easy to use, no?  At least the commercials seem that way.  Sure, their products expensive, but at least it fucking works.

I’d also like to point out that almost everyone I’ve met who works for Circuit City is either grossly incompetent or a smirking asshole in a red shirt.  Going to that store makes me want to curb every fucker with a name tag.  When I went to return my piece of shit laptop or at least get it fixed, the Assistant Manager Steve, wouldn’t even let me in the building because their power went out, and they were operating off of Generators.   THAT’S WHY YOU HAVE GENERATORS you FUCKING GED DICKHEAD.

 They could have helped me.  I didn’t want to buy anything, I just wanted my laptop fixed, and the last time I checked, the laptop had ITS OWN BATTERY to run off of.  Jesus, I can’t believe I caved and did business with these assholes again. 

One thing is for sure, I feel like a big fat idiot.

Mmmm.. McDoughuts

~ by chrismcdevitt on July 6, 2007.

6 Responses to “This fucking computer….”

  1. If the internet told you the same thing as circuit city BUT the internet also gave you a solution and circuit city didn’t…..

  2. Shoulda got a Dell 🙂

  3. i hate pc . just using mac for 1 week then you will love it . . .

  4. you’ll be happy to know that ten years after your post that Circuit City is out of business!

  5. 1years later Circuit Ciy is now out of businee. 5/17/2005

  6. 10 years later Circuit Ciy is now out of businee. 5/17/2005

Leave a Reply

 
